The Beauty of jQuery


I’ll admit, I resisted the use of frameworks. I believe in understanding the core structure and building from it. But after 2 years of working with heavy Javascript, I decided it was time to test out some frameworks to speed up my work.
There’s about 100+ Javascript frameworks out there. Picking one was no easy task. I took about 2 weeks to test out a handful of frameworks and ended up choosing jquery.

It’s tiny. no overhead. It also has a well supported community. Which means plugins galore. And it based off of CSS syntax. So there’s very little learning curve.

And the best feature of all… it’s cross browser compliant!!

No more MSIE hacks or special code for Opera. Your complex Javascript will work on all browsers. That’s a saving of 2 weeks worth of programming already!

With MooTools and Prototype, you have to be careful not to use the same variable name as their API. But not with jQuery. It is completely isolated in it’s scope and won’t affect any global namespace.

Yahoo UI and Dojo, well those are big boys. And i mean HUGE files. I prefer small footprint over bulky features. In fact, I’ll stab my eye out before I use Dojo… but I’ll digress.

For more info : http://htmltree.com/the-beauty-of-jquery/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

